What a DUI in Alabama Means for You
Alabama ranked 23rd for the strictest DUI laws in the United States, according to a recent study. Our firm has guided countless clients to successful legal outcomes in DUI cases. With a thorough knowledge of federal and state laws, we will work tirelessly on your behalf as you seek a positive result.
DUI Laws in Alabama
In the state of Alabama, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is strictly illegal. DUI is defined as driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) above a certain limit.
You may be charged with a DUI if you drive with a BAC of:
- 0.08% or higher
- 0.04% or higher in a commercial vehicle
- 0.02% or higher if under the age of 21
Furthermore, Alabama has several laws related to chemical tests. When you accept a driver’s license, you automatically agree to comply with chemical testing. This is known as Implied Consent. If you refuse to take a blood test or other type of chemical test, you will be in violation of Alabama’s Implied Consent laws.
DUI Penalties in Alabama
Being arrested for a DUI or refusing to take a chemical test will automatically result in administrative penalties from the Alabama Department of Public Safety (DPS). Your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days for a first offense, 1 year for a second offense, 3 years for a third offense, and 5 years for a fourth offense.
However, those who are under the age of 21 will have their driver’s license suspended for 30 days for a first offense. Subsequent offenses may result in longer suspension periods or license revocation. Furthermore, defendants may also need to complete a DUI court referral program or substance abuse program.
You have the right to request a hearing to dispute the automatic suspension of your driver’s license. However, you only have 10 days after your arrest to file a request. It is important to act quickly and to hire an experienced defense attorney to protect your rights as you seek to avoid these harsh administrative penalties.
A DUI conviction also carries serious criminal penalties. You may face up to a year in jail and fines of $500-$2,000 for a first offense. A second offense may result in 48 hours to a year in jail or 20 days of community service, as well as fines of $1,000-$5,000. For the third offense within a period of 5 years, you may face 60 days to a year in jail and fines of $2,000-$10,000. A fourth or subsequent DUI in 5 years may result in 1-10 years in prison and fines of $4,000-$10,000.
How a DUI Conviction Could Affect Your Life
A DUI conviction could result in a permanent mark on your criminal record. Furthermore, you may have trouble obtaining employment, and you may have to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. This will require you to take a breathalyzer test every time you start your car. If your license is suspended or revoked, you will have to rely on public transportation to get around, which is inconvenient.
What to Do If You Are Facing DUI Charges in Alabama
If you are arrested and charged with DUI, it is important to seek knowledgeable legal services as soon as possible. As stated above, you only have 10 days to request a hearing to dispute the suspension of your driver’s license. Furthermore, you may be facing severe criminal penalties, and you need fierce legal advocates on your side. Our legal team will analyze your situation, gather evidence, and represent you aggressively in court.
DUI Defense Attorneys Serving Clients in Birmingham
For more than 30 years, the Birmingham DUI defense lawyers at Dummier & Young have provided diligent representation to our clients. We stay up to date on federal and state laws and will use tailored legal strategies for your case. DUI convictions could have long-lasting negative consequences. Our legal team will passionately defend your rights from start to finish.
If you are facing DUI charges, contact our firm today and schedule a consultation.